Daggers & how to wear them

A central place to talk about weapons and armour, as it relates to your kit. This is where you show it of or talk about making it. Discussing the relative merits of types of weapons goes in the WMA section.

Moderators: caedmon, Greg

Thomas

Daggers & how to wear them

Post by Thomas »

Hi I'm new (be kind)

I got a DSA strider dagger cheap online (ordered something else wasn't in stock so changed the order to that on a whim)

I was just curious if they should be worn a certain ear on the belt. The scabbard I mean I'm very new to it all and just want to make sure it's secure :)

Cheers for the help also I'll get my sword on here once it's done!
Peter Remling
Athel Dunedain

Re: Daggers & how to wear them

Post by Peter Remling »

If you mean this dagger : http://www.darksword-armory.com/medieva ... gger-1800/

Then there is no set way to wear it. It's a scale down version of the Ranger sword from Peter Jackson's LOTR. In the books Strider doesn't have a large dagger so it's up to your own interpetation.

Are you planning on carrying a sword ? If so many people would position the dagger vertically for a grab from the dominate hand or canted forward for an off hand grab.

If you're not going to have a sword, I suggest you add to the dagger with a small knife and hand axe or tomahawk. A axe with a peen (flattened or hammer head on the back) is the most versatile.

Good luck and Welcome. If you can please post a pic of the dagger with sheath when you receive it.
Kortoso
Haeropada

Post by Kortoso »

Welcome, Thomas! Don't be afraid to experiment with it, to suit your needs.

Assuming you have been supplied a decent sheath/scabbard for it, I'd just hang it vertically as Perter suggested.

DSA suggests that it's made to attach to the sword scabbard, so maybe that's your issue? Please post a photo and we'll be glad to help!