New Guy Looking for Group

For all of the Talk that doesn't fit elsewhere.

Moderators: caedmon, Greg

kleenur
Wanderer

New Guy Looking for Group

Post by kleenur »

Hello All,
Thank you for adding me to this forum. I stumbled across the Rangering community because I didn't know it existed so, I figured I'd make one. I started by looking for a domain name (rangersofthenorth.com). I found that not only was the domain taken, but it was exactly the sort of group I'd been looking for my whole life. The only problem was that they were an 8 our drive away. I joined them anyway, and they pointed me to a facebook group for this forum, and now here I am. I am a 40 year old teacher, father, and aspiring metal smith. I like working with my hands and learning woodcraft. I would also love to try learning Sindarin. I am an avid D&D player, and a writer. I am about to add HEMA training to my fitness regimen after the first of the year. What I'd really like is to find some Rangers who live closer to me so I have someone(s) to Ranger with. Anybody out there from NH, VT, or ME?
"All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost."

-J.R.R Tolkien
Harper
Haeropada

Re: New Guy Looking for Group

Post by Harper »

Welcome Ranger!
Elleth
êphal ki-*raznahê

Post by Elleth »

Welcome! You've arrived with quite a resume! :)

I'm afraid members are kind of sparse on the ground in New England, strangely enough. The membership center of gravity is in the Midwest, with other pockets in Colorado and the Southeast. I'm in NH, and I've heard through a friend of my husband's that there's a HEMA group down in Nashua.

I've been thinking of going to the SCA's "Birka Market" in Manchester this January to see in there's some like minded folk about as well.
Persona: Aerlinneth, Dúnedain of Amon Lendel c. TA 3010.
Iodo
Thangailhir

Post by Iodo »

Welcome :mrgreen: