Help Me Name My Swords?

A central place to talk about weapons and armour, as it relates to your kit. This is where you show it of or talk about making it. Discussing the relative merits of types of weapons goes in the WMA section.

Moderators: caedmon, Greg

Manveruon
Thangailhir

Help Me Name My Swords?

Post by Manveruon »

So I've never done this before with, well, just about anything, but after posting about them a bit recently and getting tired of trying to refer to one as "the Bristol" and the other as "the Custom," or "the Arming Sword," I feel like just maybe my swords might need names.

So... I'm at a loss, any thoughts? Putting it out there to the group, because I've got nothing, haha. I'm looking for something not TOO corny, if possible.
20160204_191415-1.jpg
20160204_191415-1.jpg (140.77 KiB) Viewed 14468 times
Maerondir Perianseron, also called “Mickel,” Halfling Friend - Ranger of the Misty Mountains
Elleth
êphal ki-*raznahê

Re: Help Me Name My Swords?

Post by Elleth »

Fun!

Where do they "live?" Middle Earth exclusively? The real historical Europe sometimes? Elsewhere?
Are they new creations in that world, or ancestral? Is there a particular story you attach to either?

How do they feel to you?
Persona: Aerlinneth, Dúnedain of Amon Lendel c. TA 3010.
Greg
Urush bithî 'nKi ya-nam bawâb

Post by Greg »

I would name the custom something more British/Western European, since you're planning to wear that for a historical impression, and it just seems to fit that genre better, whereas the bristol should probably follow Middle-Earth blade naming conventions and be Sindarin.

For what it's worth.

Alas, I'm terrible at this topic. I'll ponder it a bit, though, since I've handled them.
Now the sword shall come from under the cloak.
Manveruon
Thangailhir

Post by Manveruon »

Agreed wholeheartedly, Greg!