My first attempt at a Ruck-Sack & Belt Bag

A lot of reenactment level work is about learning appropriate historical crafts and skills. This board is for all general skills that don't have their own forum.

Moderators: caedmon, Greg

Elegost
Silent Watcher over the Peaceful Lands

My first attempt at a Ruck-Sack & Belt Bag

Post by Elegost »

Well I've had a lovely weekend, I have been very busy with making a belt bag and large ruck-sack-type-thing, Anyway these are the first things I've sewn myself as my Mum has kindly been teaching me how to sew, as only being 18 I've never learned before now.

I know there not very neat but for me thats special as I'm a begginer Ranger, I'm still learning ect. Pictures:
RANGER BAG (2).JPG
RANGER BAG (2).JPG (198.25 KiB) Viewed 7977 times
RANGER BAG (3).JPG
RANGER BAG (3).JPG (62.89 KiB) Viewed 7977 times
This is a leather shoulder strap to stop the rope from rubbing my shoulder
RANGER BAG (4).JPG
RANGER BAG (4).JPG (39.86 KiB) Viewed 7977 times
Thanks for Looking,

-Chris
Peter Remling
Athel Dunedain

Re: My first attempt at a Ruck-Sack & Belt Bag

Post by Peter Remling »

Looking good Chris:

Could you take a pic of how the straps attach to the bag itself?
kaelln

Post by kaelln »

Learning is what it's all about! The rucksack looks as if it was originally another item; perhaps a coat that you have repurposed? I love the idea of repurposing items that might have otherwise sat in a closet or gone into the bin. Keep 'em coming!
R.D.Metcalf
Amrod Rhandir

Post by R.D.Metcalf »

Chris, you done some fine work there! 8)
I especially like the closure you used on the
bag and ruck. As far as "neat" goes thats beside
the point, you used the material at hand to get
your project from start to finish, having never made
the items before and came out with two useful
pieces of kit...Thats neat! Well done, young master!! 8)