LARP Weapons

The main focus of MERF is Dunedain Ranger reenactment, but we have a diverse cross-section of users that have multiple interests. Let your other Geek flags fly here.

Moderator: caedmon

RangerKellen
Silent Watcher over the Peaceful Lands

LARP Weapons

Post by RangerKellen »

Hey everyone!
I'm a bit new to LARPing but think that it looks amazing! And I'm wondering what weapons I should consider getting?
Looking forward to hearing your responses!
~RangerKellen
"Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens."
-J.R.R. Tolkien
Eledhwen
Thangailhir

Re: LARP Weapons

Post by Eledhwen »

Calimacil, if you can afford it and IF your group allows it. Cadillac of LARP weapons.

Eledhwen
Nandalad!
Ringulf
Naugothrain

Post by Ringulf »

Take a strole through Haakonson Armory, my photo bucket page and you can see what can be done with good old duct tape and a bit of creativity! Calimacil is wonderful stuff but my Larp doesn't allow latex so I make everything myself as does my son. Boffersmithing is a lot of fun and I would be happy to teach you how.

http://s901.photobucket.com/profile/HaakonsonArmory
I am Ringulf the Dwarven Woodsman, I craft leather, wood, metal, and clay,
I throw axes, seaxes, and pointy sticks, And I fire my bow through the day.
Come be my ally, lift up your mead! We'll search out our foes and the Eagles we'll feed! :mrgreen:
Eledhwen
Thangailhir

Post by Eledhwen »

Lots of LARPs do not allow latex or the more modern Calimacil type foam weapons. We use them here for unarmored WMA training, LARPing, and a variety of other things. I've had my first one now for several years; despite hard usage, not a mark on it. Good quality stuff indeed.