Middle Earth brewing

A lot of reenactment level work is about learning appropriate historical crafts and skills. This board is for all general skills that don't have their own forum.

Moderators: caedmon, Greg

Gulli
Dúnadan

Middle Earth brewing

Post by Gulli »

Greetings fellow wanderers!
I started brewing ales, meads and ciders... recently I made Dwarven stout. It's a smoked oatmeal stout with peppercorns. I call it HRUM, which is soot in old English.
I am wondering shat other types of ales would you associate with different cultures?
I am thinking brown ale for hobbits, braggot for Beornings. So let's have fun and suggest styles for different folks.
caedmon
Balku'npâ

Re: Middle Earth brewing

Post by caedmon »

I associate Brown Ale with Bree, myself. Probably because of Frodo's song. I always figured that "there is an Inn, a merry old inn, beneath an old gray hill, and there they brew a Beer so Brown...." was inspired by the beer he had just drunk.

I think ESBs for the Shire, for I am told that ESBs are the most English of Beers, and what's more English than the Shire?

I think Elrond's Miruvore, which was colorless and sweet would be a flower & honey cordial, but for beer I'd go for a barrel aged Barlywine. Galadriel's lisse-miruvóreva is a very light dry mead.

HRUM sounds perfect for the Deep places and the Dwarves. I'll take two cases.

Probably pilsners for Moria Orcs. And obviously the foul cordial of the Uruk Hai was a wine cooler. The shades of the Men of the Mountain drink no beer. It's why they died.

Rohan is mead. Heavy and sweet, makes your tongue thick and tingley. Dale and Esgaroth are partial to wheat beers.

The Druedain drink a gruit beer, heavy on the bog myrtle and yarrow. Or so I'm told.

The men of Gondor, it's sad to say, drink more wine than is good for them. But there is strength yet in Ithilien, which is known for spiced ales.