Rugged Silk?

A place for pics and tutorials on making Soft Kit (clothing and accessories like buckles and cloak pins).

Moderators: caedmon, Greg

Yavion
Silent Watcher over the Peaceful Lands

Rugged Silk?

Post by Yavion »

What would you say the most rugged, work-clothes-ready type of silk would be?

I know that the Japanese used a combination of silks, linen/ramie, and hemp for their work clothes in the pre-industrial era, but my search skills appear to be weak.

Thoughts? If you were to make an outer tunic and trousers for outdoor activities what type of silk would you use?
Iodo
Thangailhir

Re: Rugged Silk?

Post by Iodo »

I'm no expert, but I know there is historic evidence that vikings used silk in tunics, I guess that would have been something called raw silk, or Silk noil, but I think those are different but I'm not sure what the difference is?

I've never tried it so I don't know how it would preform but I think it's meant to be good. I do actually have a piece of fabric that someone at a reenactment event sold me for not much money, they claimed it was raw silk, it feels a lot like linen but it's sort of stickier, it's hard to explain, I never used it tho

I'm sure I have seen mention of silk somewhere on this forum, maybe someone else here might know more?
Gimli: It's true you don't see many Dwarf-women. And in fact, they are so alike in voice and appearance, that they are often mistaken for Dwarf-men.
Aragorn: It's the beards.
Elleth
êphal ki-*raznahê

Post by Elleth »

I've done a couple tunics from raw silk, as well as regular clothes. Also I think our Star Wars contingent uses it for (at least) Jedi robes.