Flint & steel

A lot of reenactment level work is about learning appropriate historical crafts and skills. This board is for all general skills that don't have their own forum.

Moderators: caedmon, Greg

Cortharyn
Wayfarer

Flint & steel

Post by Cortharyn »

Am I being too heavy handed with the striking here? I have pieces of "flint" (I don't actually know what the stone is) flying everywhere.

[youtube]https://youtu.be/r9wJGMe3bp4[/youtube]
I am the weapon
Elleth
êphal ki-*raznahê

Re: Flint & steel

Post by Elleth »

Edited response:

I think in some of your strikes, your strike is coming it coming in at too perpendicular an angle to the steel, and causing the edge of the stone to crush/flake against the metal. Try shifting your blows to "shave" more than "strike" and I think you'll have less chipping. (or alternately, hold stone and charcloth in one hand and strike with the steel)

... not that I'm an expert or anything. I throw my own share of oops-chips. :mrgreen:
Persona: Aerlinneth, Dúnedain of Amon Lendel c. TA 3010.
ForgeCorvus
Silent Watcher over the Peaceful Lands

Post by ForgeCorvus »

I hold a bit of charcloth on top of my flint with my thumb, hold the steel in the fingers of the other hand and stroke the striker over the edge of the stone.
I use a little 'finger steel' though, what you have is a 'knuckle steel' and is best held like it was a set of brass knuckles.
The final common type is a 'hearth steel', those have arms curving away from the main body and are used in the same way you are in your video.

I've only made a couple of hundred of the things over the years however it was only ten years or so back that I actually tried lighting a fire with one

Once got a chip stuck under my nail...... Bled like an Ork on a skewer
All debts are paid....... Nothing forgiven. Nothing forgotten.

"All Things Strive" Gd Tak 'Gar

Barron (BAH-Ron) son of Barris (BAH-Ras) AKA Barron 'Blackcap'.
Independent Fellsward, Jobber, Tinker and Traveller in Trifles
Jack