Elven Ranger Clothing Concept

From Lorien to the Undying Lands...

Moderators: caedmon, Greg

Yavion
Silent Watcher over the Peaceful Lands

Elven Ranger Clothing Concept

Post by Yavion »

Over in General Discussion, Iodo mentioned in Elladan and Elrohir: Rangers? that "Some art would be cool to see" regarding my elven ranger impression. So, I finally took the time to bother the spouse into doing something up for me. Keep in mind, this is them basing the art on what I described and what I was able to find to give examples. The images are also purposely "sketchy" as I really like that style and asked for it.
For influence, I went for a combination of Norse, Caucuses, and more northeastern European take. My thought being that the elves in their migration west would have an effect on their dress.

I welcome feedback, just be gentle as this is my first time sharing this idea outside the home :mrgreen:

The underlayer. I feel like it's a given, but I figured if we're going all out, may as well do every layer.

Undershirt and socks. I wanted the slight stand-up collar to save the over-layer from coming in direct contact with my skin, saving the over-layer from needing as frequent washing.

Trousers and boots. Going off of the idea that Aragorn wore high, black boots, I went with a pattern based off of eastern European riding boots. Something you see depicted in Polish and Ukrainian art, but also reminiscent of boots from the Novgorod find. Looser trousers are found in several cultures, and I like how they feel when trekking long distance.

Over tunic and belt. This is a combination of a Georgian Chokha, a Mongolian Deel, and a Norse kaftan. The part you can't see under the right arm is that it is tied along the side to keep it in place. The belt is a bit of a placeholder. I know I want a two layer belt, but am unsure of how I want to proceed with it. Too many options!